Connor O’Sullivan wins 2020 P.G. Hampshire Award

· WA Premier
by Rugby WA Media

UWA’s Connor O’Sullivan has been named as the 2020 PG Hampshire Award winner after a prolific season that saw his side earn a place in this week’s FMG Championship Division final against Joondalup.

Along with his brother Rory, Connor has been an integral part of the UWA premier grade side over the past two seasons and adds tremendous value to the UWA back-row with his remarkable ball running skills and his awareness around the breakdown.

When accepting the prestigious award this morning, Connor was nothing short of humble when speaking on behalf of his teammates and club.

He reflected on what has been a memorable season and mentioned that he was not expecting to win the award at all and felt flattered to be spoken of in the same breath as some of the great Western Australian players.

Trailing close behind O’Sullivan on the PG Hampshire leaderboard were Joondalup’s Sheldon Tarawa and Cottesloe’s Tobias Hoskins who both led the count at some point throughout the season.

Kalamunda’s William Tuheke-Wade wasn’t far off the mark either in the PG Hampshire count, finishing 5th on the overall standings.

Other awards won throughout the morning included the Coach of the Year which was awarded to Palmyra’s Jack Lloyd who contributed heavily to Palmyra’s rise in the premier grade ranks in 2020.

Malakai Tuipulotu took out the Most Outstanding Colt Award following his strong showings for Kalamunda at the back of the scrum while Wanneroo’s Tamika Jones won the Sue Roberts Trophy as the most valuable women’s player.

Attention now turns to this weekend as clubs prepare for their respective grand finals at McGillivray Oval on Saturday in what is set to be an action packed day.

Colt’s kick off the action from 11am, while the main event between Associates and Cottesloe is set for a twilight grand final at 4:20pm.


2020 Fortescue Senior Rugby Award Winners

P.G. Hampshire - Connor O’Sullivan (UWA)

Coach of the Year
- Jack Lloyd (Palmyra)

Top Try Scorer - Alistair Haining (Cottesloe)

Top Points Scorer - Caleb Young (Cottesloe)

NEGU Award - Tyron Law (Palmyra)

Most Outstanding Colt
- Malakai Tuipulotu (Kalamunda)

Sue Roberts Trophy - Tamika Jones (Wanneroo)

Match Official of the Year - Mark Langerman

Senior Club Champion Award
- Cottesloe

RugbyWA Cup
- Associates