Fortescue Premier Grade Preview - Round 1

· WA Premier
by Rugby WA Media

Match of the Round

Coastal Cavaliers v Nedlands, Oakmont Reserve, Meadow Springs- Kick-off: 3:30pm 

The post COVID era begins with Match of the Round as Nedlands travel down the freeway to pay greetings to the Cavaliers. 'Cavs' youngster James Petherick will keep the Nedlands boys on high alert as the 2019 season that saw him earn a ‘Belt Up Colt of the Month’ award.nNedlands head coach Sam Rarasea will be hopeful his side can explode out of the blocks after finishing 2019 at the top of the Premiership table.

The Match of the Round will be streamed live on the RugbyWA website and Youtube page and replayed on NITV on Sunday July 5 at. 11:30am 

Perth Bayswater v Kalamunda, Pat O’Hara Reserve, Morley - Kick-off: 3:30pm

Perth Bayswater will be eager for improvement in 2020, looking to hit the ground running in Morley against an imposing Kalamunda. After finishing last season on a high, Kalamunda will look to break back into the premiership division of the competition aiming for a top six finish. 

Wanneroo v Cottesloe, Kingsway Sporting Complex, Madeley - Kick-off: 3:30pm

The 2019 Fortescue Premier Grade champions are heading north for round one where they will do battle with Wanneroo. The ‘Roo Dogs’ were last year’s quiet achievers after securing a top six finish and were crowned ‘kings of the north’ following a memorable victory over rivals Joondalup Brothers earlier in the year. The composed Ethan Reilly will steer Wanneroo from fly-half after displaying impressive signs against Associates in their trial game two weeks ago. Cottesloe will enter the contest oozing in confidence following a composing victory over Wests Scarborough last weekend.

ARKS v Associates, Harrisdale Pavilion, Harrisdale - Kick-off: 3:30pm

Since ARKS inception into the Fortescue Premier Grade in 2018, both teams have won this fixture once. When these sides met in Harrisdale last year ARKS toppled Associates to win the RugbyWA Cup for the first time in the club’s history. Associates enter the 2020 season with a breath of fresh air which will include club veteran Tevita Sifa who will add a touch of class in the backline. 2019 PG Hampshire award winner Russell Burges will captain ARKS and will be hoping to make it two wins on the trot against ‘Soaks’.

UWA v Wests Scarborough, McGillivray Oval, Mt Claremont - Kick-off: 3:30pm

Following a tough inter-club clash with their second-grade side last Thursday night UWA open up their 2020 season campaign against Wests Scarborough at the ‘Library’. UWA second-rower Tim Wallace will be a potent figure for the home side as UWA look to contain the powerful Wests forward pack. The ‘Boars’ will arrive at McGillivray well prepared after a physical contest in their trial game against Cottesloe last Saturday and will be captained by club stalwart Nick McLennan who will be a prolific force in the front row.

Southern Lions v Joondalup, Success Regional Sporting Facility, Success - Kick-off: 3:30pm

There will be a sanguine feeling amongst the Southern Lions squad on Saturday after healthy preparations in their trial games against Cottesloe and Associates. Lions utility back Kyle Fell took leaps and bounds in 2019 and with a vigorous spatial awareness, can turn defences inside out. However, the Southern Lions will be in good company on Saturday as Joondalup look to establish themselves as a major player in the premiership this season.

Curtin University v Palmyra, Edinburgh Oval, Bentley - Kick-off: 3:30pm

Despite only one win next to their name in 2019, Curtin skipper Robbie Fulton is self-assured that Curtin will be a different team this season and they have already showed signs of improvement following a strong hit out against Wests Scarborough a few weeks ago. Curtin will host Palmyra at ‘Goat Land’ this weekend who will cross Canning Bridge hoping to continue their powerful form from last year after defeating Kalamunda to win the championship division. Palmyra host numerous young prospects in their side including Marcus Arrindell who bamboozled opposition defences last season.

Starting XVs




1. JP Sauni, 2. Nick Hyde, 3. Paasi Fine, 4. Zander Beacham, 5. Afa Manukia, 6. Michael Hardwick, 7. Alex Rovira, 8. Mike Tafili, 9. Lachie Phillips, 10. Harry Webster, 11. Ross Palframan, 12. Will Godwin, 13. Christian Vainerere, 14. Sam Healy, 15. Robbie Ingram

Coastal Cavaliers 

1. Russ Egan, 2. Zhayden Horo, 3. Paul Nu'u (VC), 4. Ratu Berry, 5. Liam Van Der Heyden, 6. Solomone Likio, 7. Jordan Hanson, 8. Sam Murray, 9. Matt Griffiths10. Dudley Cortland
11. Brandon Steele, 12. Blayke Taiwhati, 13. Luke Petherick, 14. James Petherick, 15. Bodi Etheridge (C)


1. Mosese Waqa 2. Terrell Shortland Berryman 3. Reginald Churchward, 4. Rian Murphy, 5. Hugh Huppatz, 6. Ethan Cayless 7. Cohen Masson, 8. Tobias Hoskins. (C), 9. Rory Edwards, 10. Caleb Young 11. James. Blackburn, 12. Gregory Jackson. (VC), 13. Alastair Haining, Jack McDermott

Curtin Uni

1. Thompson Cross, 2. Caeleb Simkin, 3. Quent Hay, 4. Tomoki Ogawa, 5. Zak Wain, 6. Tom Chadwick, 7. Sebastian Thogerse, 8. Vau Lagaaia, 9. Russell Keegan, 10. Nick Suckling,11. Nick Chadwick, 12. Liam Becker, 13. Robbie Fulton, 14. Nick Eve, 15. Alex Klewinghaus 

Joondalup - TBC


Kalamunda -TBC



1. Jamie Hawgood, 2. Reuben O’Connell, 3. Dev Morris, 4. Sam Offer, 5. Ryan James, 6. David Bailey, 7. Kenny McPherson, 8. Aiden Laxton, 9. Mike Botes 10. Dylan Loversidge (c), 11. Callum Thomas,12. Ammon Matuauto, 13. Kauri Cudd, 14. Steven Nolson, 15. Peter Fitzgerald



1. Ethan Poi, 2. Sioeli Vaituulala, 3. Pierson Kennington, 4. Hendrik De Wet, 5. Hayden Croghan, 6. Max Bailey, 7. Nate Oakley, 8. Dylan Cunningham (C), 9. Reece Anapu, 10. Sam Jurisich
11. Adam Marshall, 12. Leighton Short, 13. Marcus Arrindell, 14. Caleb Beams, 15. Manihera Eden


Perth Bayswater - TBC


Southern Lions

1. Vidar Topu, 2. Jordan Shelford, 3. Chris Bain, 4. Scott Turnbull, 5. Alex Hales,  6. Malai Tuifagalele 7. Will Burroughs 8. Saimone Rauga 9. Mitchell Kingsmill 10. Kyle Fell (C) 11. Meli Naborisi 12. Vereti Bainivalu 13. Sisa Waqa 14. Petero Taitusi 15. Jonah Naborisi  





1. Andre. Roux, 2. Scott Cornell, 3. TJ Vunivalu 4. Nate Yoder, 5. Brad Campbell, 6. Luke Callan, 7. Cade Begg, 8. Mark Cornell 9. Jared Deacon, 10. Ethan Reilly, 11. Xavier Tearoa, 12. Andrew King (C), 13. Jordan Grattan, 14. Dylan Smith, 15. Robbie Stortz

Wests Scarborough- TBC


*Teams can also be found on the. Rugby Xplorer app, if  clubs have submitted full team lists prior to the Friday 12:00pm deadline they will earn healthy clubs points contributing to a cash prize in the healthy club competition.