Four RugbyWA Women included in Wallaroos squad

· Womens International
by Rugby WA Media

Head coach Dwayne Nestor has selected his Wallaroos squad ahead of their two tests series against Japan.

Cottesloe’s Mhicca Carter and Rebecca Clough will pull on the gold jersey yet again with Carter now entering her third year with the national team.

Kalamunda’s Trilleen Pomare will also be looked at to lead the Australian back line as one of the most dynamic players in the country.

Another selection from Kalamunda is centre Ariana Hira-Herangi, this is her first selection in a national squad after a sublime performance for the RugbyWA women in the Super W competition.

Hira-Herangi will be hoping to secure a debut cap for the Wallaroos, fighting for a position next to Kalamunda teammate Pomare. 

In the lead up to the selection select players have been training at RugbyWA HQ alongside their training and games in WA's Alcohol.Think Again Women's competition. 

Nestor said there were no easy calls to make in trimming the extended squad down, after months of state-based training.

"I’d like to congratulate every player on being selected in the squad for what is going to be a massive series against Japan this July," he said.

“There were some really difficult selections to be made, but that is a testament to the work ethic of the extended squad and the real depth we are growing following on from the second season of Buildcorp Super W.

“The hard work is only just beginning, as we have a massive opportunity this year with the Tests scheduled and I know the squad is looking forward to getting into camp in Newcastle on July 6.” 

In a significant development for women's rugby as well, fans will be able to buy Wallaroos merchandise for the first time this year.

The Wallaroos take on Japan in a two-Test series in July, with the opener on July 13 at Newcastle Sportsground no. 2 and the second at North Sydney Oval on July 19. Buy tickets here.



Wallaroos squad for Japan Series


Millie Boyle, Royals (Canberra), Queensland Women's XV

Emily Chancellor, Sydney University, NSW Waratahs Women

Rebecca Clough, Cottesloe, Rugby WA Women 

Grace Hamilton, Sydney University, NSW Waratahs Women

Alisha Hewett, GPS/ADFRU, Queensland Women's XV

Evelyn Horomia, Western Sydney, NSW Waratahs Women

Asoiva (Eva) Karpani*, Randwick, NSW Waratahs Women

Michaela Leonard*, Vikings, Brumbies Women

Kiri Lingman, Sunnybank, Queensland Women's XV

Ashley Marsters, Box Hill, Melbourne Rebels Women

Shannon Mato*, Sunnybank, Queensland Women's XV

Averyl Mitchell*, Souths, Queensland Women's XV

Sera Naiqama*, Sydney University, NSW Waratahs Women 

Liz Patu, Wests, Queensland Women's XV

Emily Robinson, Warringah, NSW Waratahs Women

Christina Sekona*, Sunnybank, Queensland Women's XV



Mhicca Carter, Cottesloe, Rugby WA Women

Georgia Cormick*, Powerhouse, Melbourne Rebels Women

Lori Cramer*, University of Queensland, Queensland Women's XV

Ariana Hira-Herangi*, Kalamunda, Rugby WA Women

Chloe Leaupepe, Warringah, NSW Waratahs Women

Alysia Lefau-Fakaosilea*, Sunnybank, Queensland Women's XV

Cobie-Jane Morgan, Sunnybank, Queensland Women's XV

Arabella McKenzie*, Randwick, NSW Waratahs Women 

Mahalia Murphy, Campbelltown, NSW Waratahs Women

Asako Ono*, University of Queensland, Queensland Women's XV

Trilleen Pomare, Kalamunda, Rugby WA Women

Sarah Riordan, Wests/ADFRU, Queensland Women's XV

Samantha Treherne, Sunnybank, Queensland Women's XV


*Denotes Uncapped