Fortescue Premiership Division Final Preview

· WA Premier
by Rugby WA Media

Following another exceptional season of Fortescue Premier Grade Rugby, two colossal teams remain as minor Premiers Nedlands challenge Cottesloe for RugbyWA’s greatest prize, the Premier Grade Cup.

Both Nedlands and Cottesloe enter this mammoth clash having both been the dominant figures throughout the 2019 season with both teams sharing the spoils at the top of the Premiership Division ladder.

Having endured a mediocre season in 2018, Cottesloe were determined to go into 2019 a new and improved side.

They put on some extravagant displays throughout the year which saw them claim 13 victories from 18 games.

Throughout the year Cottesloe crafted a high-octane flavour of rugby with a high intensity and heavy attacking approach which saw them score an average of 32.6 points a game.

Possessing a wealth of experience, it’s no surprise Cottesloe have come of age this year harbouring some of the hottest prospects in the Fortescue Premier Grade with the likes of captain Kieran Stringer, the tenacious Tobias Hoskins and the prolific point scorer Ben Meredith all playing an instrumental role in Cottesloe’s journey to the final.

Despite a lackluster finish to the season that saw them win only two of their last five games, Cottesloe overcame a determined Wests Scarborough side in the semi-final at the picturesque Harvey Field last Sunday, prevailing as 32-25 victors in front of an exuberant home crowd.

Having not won a Premiership since 2009, Cottesloe feels it has been far too long between drinks and their last taste of Premiership glory. They will be eager to get their hands on the Premier Grade Trophy once again after the long ten-year drought.

After unexpectedly crashing out of last year’s semi-final Nedlands were on a mission to make amends in 2019 and so they have, leaving a trail of destruction in their wake winning 15 from their 18 matchups to finish the home and away season as Minor Premiers.

With a Herculean like forward pack at their disposal as well as an electric backline to go with it, Nedlands have torn opposition sides to shreds this season prizing themselves on their set piece.

Fullback Kauri Cudd has played a formidable role in guiding this glamorous Nedlands team to the final, proving to be a prodigious goal kicker as well as a potent attacking threat with ball in hand.

However, he is just one of the many weapons that will be waiting for Cottesloe at Kingsway Reserve with the likes of Dylan Loversidge, Christoff Cronje and Mike Egan all packing some serious heat on the attacking end of the ball.

Nedlands made the most of their home semi-final last Saturday defeating UWA 18-10 to advance to the final clash.

Having won 16 Premierships since 1963 their last one in 2015, Nedlands hold the record for the most premierships won by any Western Australian club and they will be yearning at the opportunity to keep that record going in this upcoming match.

Cottesloe have exhibited a staunch defence in 2019 suffocating teams with their blistering linespeed. Every breath of that defence must be on show if Cottesloe are to have any chance against the unforgiving Nedlands attack that is sure to strike at the first sign of weakness.

After very dominant seasons, from both clubs, it all comes down to this one final dance.

Both sides will be looking to close the final chapter of 2019 on a high and add the illustrious Premier Grade Cup to their trophy cabinet.

With both sides successfully knocking on the door in this competition for the last five years this matchup is shaping up to be one of the most exhilarating Premier Grade finals in recent memory.

Who will be the winner?


Nedlands will go head to head with Cottesloe in the Premiership Division Final at Kingsway Reserve (Wanneroo Rugby Club) on Sunday 25th of August - Kick - Off 3:40am AWST streamed live on the RugbyWA Youtube Channel.




Starting XV

1. Tukiterangi Raimona

2. Joseph Ritchie 

3. Jonathon Robertson-Tiueti

4. Michael Egan (C)

5. Drake Robson

6. Kaleb Whakataka

7. Shane Hemi

8. Grayson Knapp

9. Nathan Roberts

10. David Neilson

11. Al Momoisea

12.  Jackson Neilson

13. Ammon Matuauto

14. Christoff Cronje

15. Kauri Cudd



16. Joseph Simeon

17. Cameron Brown

18. Aidan Laxton

19.  David Bailey

20. Michael Botes

21. Maia King



Starting XV

1. Ivan Fepule'ai

18. Gafatasi Su’a (VC)

3. Lafaele Ikenasio

4. Kieran Stringer (C)

5. Zane Herrick

6. Cohen Masson

7. Alec Fontalvo

8. Tobias Hoskins

9. Timothy Parks (VC)

10. Sean Martin

11. Zubayr Abrahams

12. Samuel Parker

13. Alistair Haining

14. Netinili Fielea

15. Benjamin Meredith



16. Darius Takurua

17. Kaisa Reidy

2. Michael Walker

19. Ethan Cayless

20. Simione Vuetiverata

21. Scott Nichol

22. James Blackburn

23. Mayson Hill

24. Sasha Holloway

25. Jason Badenhorst

26. Tamba Lebbie