Meet the team behind the team.

Within Rugby Australia, refereeing sits in two departments – within the High Performance Department, headed by Ben Whitaker, and the Community Rugby Department's Rugby Services Team, headed by Lachlan Clark.

Rugby Australia’s responsibilities:

  • The strategic direction of refereeing in Australia
  • Selecting and developing the National Panel of referees and other talent across the country
  • Supporting and resourcing the education and training of referees at all levels

Each individual State Union or Referee Association is responsible for:

  • The policy and implementation of coaching and appointing referees in their State
  • Conducting Rugby AU-approved accreditation courses and other educational content
  • Managing the process of accreditation and reaccreditation of referees in their State

Rugby Australia Staff

High Performance
Scott Young – Referee Manager, High Performance
Mitch Chapman – Head Coach Referees
Kate Halaska – Logistics and Administration Coordinator
Jarrod Presland – Strength & Conditioning Coordinator
Lauren Kelly – National Women's Coordinator
Anthony Moyes – National Sevens Coordinator
Community Rugby

Jamie McGregor – Match Official Manager, Community Rugby
Rohan Hoffmann – Match Official Manager QLD/NT
Shane Barr – Match Official Manager Southern States
In addition, Graham Cooper (RugbyWA) and Alex Richards (NSWRU) co-ordinate referee issues for their State Unions.

Click here for more details about our full time referees.