Fortescue Premier Grade Preview – Round 5

· WA Premier
by Rugby WA Media

Match of the Round

Perth Bayswater v Curtin University, 3:30pm, Pat O’Hara reserve Morley

Clashing heads in this week’s Fortescue Match of the Round is Perth Bayswater and Curtin University who are both hoping to jump up the rankings.

After their first win of the season last weekend Perth Bayswater sit 8th on the ladder and will be riding high on confidence when the ‘Goats’ arrive in town.

Curtin will be reeling after their loss to West’s Scarborough and this week’s game provides a valuable opportunity to bounce back.

Earning his 75th premier grade cap for Perth Bayswater last Saturday Benjamin Buist was a clear standout in their win over ARKs and will be lurking in the front row once again in round five.

Wanneroo v West’s Scarborough, 3:30pm, Kingsway Sports Complex, Madeley

While the Barrett brothers reign supreme in New Zealand, the three Walker brothers led the charge for West’s in their mammoth win over Curtin, with Lewis and Jamie earning spots in round four’s Team of the Week.

The ‘Boars’ ran rampant against Curtin scoring a mouth-watering 91 points and will be on the hunt for their third win in a row against Wanneroo.

Wanneroo gathered momentum on the road last week as they beat the Cavaliers by 20 points to set up a Titanic clash at ‘The Kennel’ on Saturday.

Outside centre Grason Makara waved his magic wand for the ‘Roo Dogs’ running in a hat-trick of tries in their win against the Cavaliers.

Kalamunda v Coastal Cavaliers, 3:30pm, Hartfield Reserve, Forrestfield

Despite a mixed bag of results, both teams remain winless in 2020 and will both head into this week’s action with a point to prove.

After a gritty performance, Kalamunda lost out on their chance to re-capture the Rugby WA Cup as they struggled to penetrate a staunch Joondalup outfit.

The Cavaliers proved no match for Wanneroo but will be full of ammunition as they hunt for their first win of the season.

Cottesloe v UWA, 3:30pm, Harvey Field, Cottesloe

Following another victory in the Battle of Broome Street Cottesloe will be hoping to keep their stranglehold on the competition as they meet UWA head into round five undefeated after a close encounter with the Southern Lions last week and are continuing to build strength in 2020.

Contributing immensely to last week’s win, Cottesloe halfback Rory Edwards was named in the round four Team of the Week, orchestrating his forwards nicely around the park while UWA flanker Harry Taylor stood out for the ‘Students’.

Palmyra v Associates, 3:30pm, Tompkins Park, Applecross

Associates had a game to forget in the ‘Battle of Broome Street’ while Palmyra fared no better against Nedlands.

With a well camouflaged attack at their disposal Palmyra will look to penetrate the Associates defence early on, hoping to beat Associates for the first time since 2017.

Hiding a weapon of their own ‘Soaks’ will unbridle the towering presence of Arthur Manukia whose destructive carries continuously find the advantage line.

Southern Lions v ARKs, 3:30pm, Success Regional Sporting Facility, Success

The Southern Lions have begun to find rhythm in 2020 and will roll into the game against ARKs looking for another win.

The ‘Lions’ pushed UWA to a cliff’s edge last week only to miss out on a victory by a slender three points while ARK’s continue to hunt for their first win.

Jonah Naborisi was one of the headline acts of round four, displaying some individual brilliance to score an exemplary kick and chase try.

Joondalup v Nedlands, 3:30pm, HBF Arena, Joondalup

The Rugby WA Cup will once again be up for grabs as the competitions two top teams fight tooth and nail for the stupendous silverware.

The ladder’s top spot is also wide open as both teams sit equal on 18 points, while Cottesloe and UWA drag closely behind.

After a disappointing 2019, Joondalup Brothers have turned up the heat and remain undefeated after another victory over Kalamunda in which they defended the Rugby WA Cup.

Nedlands also claimed some silverware of their own last week lifting the Gary Mickle Cup after defeating Palmyra on the Foreshore.




1. JP Sauni, 2. Nicholas Hyde, 3. Paasi Fine, 4. Alexander Beacham, 5. ArthurManukia, 6. Micheal Hardwick, 7. Alex Rovira, 8. MichaelTafili, 9. Todd Lewis, 10. LukeRaduva, 11. Sam Healy, 12. SioneTuitavake, 13. Tevita Sifa, 14. Christian Vainerere, 15. Robbie Ingram 

Coastal Cavaliers

1. Paulo Nu'u, 2. Zhaidayn Horo, 3. RussellEgan, 4. SolomoneLikio, 5. LiamVan Der Heyden, 6. Dylan Pirihi, 7. JacobCrosland, 8. ErikSchneider, 9. Andrew-ShaneTaitoko, 10. TBC, 11. Joshua Batchelor, 12. TanekahaNgaropo, 13. James Petherick, 14. Kaea Hohaia, 15. TobyMead


1. Adam Fullgrabe, 2. Jordan Ieremia, 3. Reginald Churchward, 4. Hugh Huppatz, 5. Rian Murphy, 6. Robin O'Sullivan, 7. Alec Fontalvo, 8. Cohen Masson, 9. Rory Edwards, 10. Caleb Young, 11. James Blackburn, 12. Tobias Hoskins (C), 13. Alistair Haining (VC), 14. Scott Nichol, 15. Jason Badenhorst

Curtin Uni

1. Thompson Cross, 2. Caeleb Simkin, 3. Quent Hay, 4. Adam Ansbro, 5. Peter Greenaway, 6. Austin Connelly, 7. Seb Thogersen, 8. Vau Lagaaia, 9. Tom Chadwick, 10. Nikki Suckling, 11. Nick Chadwick, 12. Conrad Kovaleski, 13. Robbie Fulton (C), 14. Nick Eve, 15. Liam Becker (VC)

Joondalup Brothers

  1. Taine Yates, 2. TiagoValentim, 3. Jean-Pierre Mostert, 4. MatthewHolland, 5. DallasDella-vedova, 6. Samuel Long, 7. Ryan King, 8. Patrick Tuialii, 9. BrendanVorster, 10. SheldonTarawa (C), 11. FraserJones, 12. JustinZietsman, 13. TBC, 14.  Porika Patukaki,  15. Clay Uyen


1. Rangikino Paul, 2. BenjaminRumble, 3. Mac Heke, 4. Caleb Marr, 5. HenareHoukamau, 6. JacobRumble, 7. Linton Horsburgh, 8. WilliamTuheke-Wade, 9. JackWeir (C), 10. Blake Hignett-Stephens, 11. UsaiaRalulu, 12. Te AroaKoiatu, 13. FaamanatuApineru, 14. Tawhiri Rewha, 15. IziahMalcolm


1. Jamie Hawgood (vc), 2. Heath Tessmann, 3. Dev Morris, 4. Sam Offer, 5. Mike Egan, 6. Kenneth MacPherson, 7. David Bailey, 8. Aidan Laxton, 9. Mike Botes, 10. Dylan Loversidge (c) 11. Callum Thomas, 12. Ammon Matuauto, 13. Benjamin Carr, 14. Maia King, 15. Kauri Cudd


1. Ethan Poi, 2. Sioeli Vaituulala, 3. Pierson Kennington, 4. Andrew Sanders, 5. Hayden Croghan, 6. Jackson Pugh, 7. Hendrik De Wet, 8. Dylan Cunningham (C), 9. Hayden Whitmee-Lloyd,10. Sam Jurisich, 11. Adam Marshall, 12. Leighton Short, 13. Marcus Arrindell, 14. Chris Miller, 15. Manihera Eden

Perth Bayswater

1. Dante Tatafu, 2.  Ben Buist, 3. Chris Kidd, 4. Keisuke Yagishita, 5. Jacob Buist (cc), 6. Meihana Mason, 7. Craig Smith, 8. Faamanu Tofilau, 9. Liam Wynne, 10. Simon Hrbeck, 11. Pousea Elisara,12. Kolia Konelio, 13. Shane Parkinson (cc), 14. Jordan Luke,15. Benji Keenan

Southern Lions - TBC


Wanneroo - TBC 

Wests Scarborough - TBC