Fortescue Premier Grade Preview - Round 4

· WA Premier
by Rugby WA Media

Match of the Round

Associates v Cottesloe, 3:30pm, Allen Park, Swanbourne

One of the oldest rivalries in West Australian sport is set to reignite on Saturday as Associates hosts their old enemy Cottesloe at the ‘Boneyard’ for the monumental Battle of Broome Street. With both clubs fielding formidable sides in 2020, this battle is expected to be like no other as they fight it out for the prestigious Bill Hassell Perpetual Trophy. Cottesloe enter this week’s clash as the kings of Broome Street having defeated Associates in both of their meetings last year. Associates are intoxicated at the thought of revenge and haven’t held bragging rights since 2018.

Coastal Cavaliers v Wanneroo, 3:30pm, Kingsway Sporting Complex, Madeley

An upset could be boiling this weekend as the Cavaliers head north to tackle Wanneroo. The Cavaliers have gone from strength to strength in 2020, and while they are yet to bag a win they harbour one of the most destructive forward packs in the competition who will be let off the leash on Saturday. Wanneroo will be hoping to bounce back after a loss to Associates and will be desperate to break out of the blocks early on.

Kalamunda v Joondalup Brothers, 3:30pm, Hartfield Park, Forrestfield

Hostilities will take shape in the ‘Bull Ring’ on Saturday as Kalamunda look to retain the RugbyWA Cup against the unbeaten Joondalup Brothers. The impeccable Sheldon Tarawa has been at the forefront for the Brothers in 2020 and along with his ability to sabotage opposition defences, his leadership will be pivotal if Joondalup are to topple Kalamunda for the RugbyWA Cup.

ARKS v Perth Bayswater, 3:30pm, Harrisdale Pavilion, Harrisdale

In what will be a clash of the front rows, both clubs are still chasing the taste of victory in 2020 and will look to their scrum to give them the upper edge. Both sides had front rowers named in this week’s RugbyWA Team of the week. ARKS’ Anthony Russell was a menace on the pitch against Curtin while Perth Bayswater’s Dante Tatafu continues to impress in his breakout season. ARKS currently sit on the bottom of the rankings and a win would see them leap-frog Perth Bayswater into 12th.

UWA v Southern Lions, 3:30pm, McGillivray Oval, Mt Claremont

After three rounds UWA remain undefeated and have established themselves as one of the premier teams in the competition. Beating the Cavaliers 26-21 at the ‘Library’ last week a number of players impressed for the ‘Students’ including back rower Connor O’Sullivan who is a magnet for the try line and has an acute ability to find space. Steering the ship for Southern Lions, halfback Mitchell Kingsmill will be one to keep an eye on with a lethal box kick and a dynamic running game in his repertoire, he is quickly making a name for himself in the premier grade competition.

Nedlands v Palmyra, 3:30pm, Sir Charles Court reserve, Nedlands Foreshore

 This mouth-watering contest is set to have profound effects for the rest of the season as Nedlands look to tame an impressive Palmyra side who have been running rampant in the opening rounds. Nedlands have left a trail of destruction after the first three games and enter this week with four players in RugbyWA’s Team of the Week including lock Michael Egan who’s dominance at lineout time was unmatched in their win over Southern Lions last week. Falling short against Cottesloe at home, Palmyra will be out for blood, trying to burst into the competition’s top four.

West’s Scarborough v Curtin University, 3:30pm, Bennett Park, Doubleview

 Curtin will be riding high in their preparations for the ‘Boars’ after another famous win in last week’s match of the round against ARKS. West’s will have a lot on their plate if they can’t contain ‘Goats’ winger Nicholas Chadwick whos extreme pace bamboozled the ARKS defence last week. Despite a shaky start to the season, West’s found some rhythm last week to beat Kalamunda 18-0 and will unleash back-rower Paul Hamber who’s prolific defence turn over ability will be on full display this Saturday.

Starting XVs



1. John Sauni, 2. Nick Hyde, 3. Passi Fine, 4. Alex Beacham, 5. Afa Manukia, 6. Micheal Hardwick, 7. Alex Rovira, 8. Micheal Tafili, 9. Lachlan Phillips, 10. Sam Healy, 11. Ryan Draver, 12. Will Godwin, 13. Christian Vainerere 14. Robert Tucker, 15. Robert Ingram

Coastal Cavaliers

1. Paulo Nu’u, 2. Zhaidayn Horo, 3. Michael Tilden, 4. Solomone Likio, 5. Liam Van Der Heyden (C), 6. Jordan Hanson, 7. Jacob Crosland, 8. Samuel Murray-Abraham, 9. Matthew Griffiths (VC), 10. Andrew-Shane Taitoko, 11. Joshua Batchelor, 12. Tanekaha Ngaropo, 13. James Petherick, 14. Anton Paul, 15. Zachary Palmer


1. Reginald Churchward, 2. Terrell Shortland-Berryman, 3. Kaisa Reidy, 4. Hugh Huppatz, 5. Benjamin Grant, 6. Robin O’Sullivan 7. Alec Fontalvo, 8. Cohen Masson, 9. Tim Parks, 10. Caleb Young, 11. James Black, 12. Tobias Hoskins (C), 13. Alistair Haining (VC), 14. Te Arahi Bishop 15. Jack McDermott

Curtin Uni

1. Thompson Cross, 2. Russell Keegan (C) 3. Quentin Hay, 4. Tomoki Ogawa, 5. Peter Greenaway, 6. Austin Connelly, 7. Adam Ansbro, 8. Vauea Sialavai, 9. Thomas Chadwick, 10. Nikki Suckling, 11. Nicholas Chadwick, 12. Liam Becker, 13. Daniel O'Leary, 14. Ioane Wright, 15. Alexander Klewinghaus

Joondalup Brothers

1. Taine Yates, 2. Tiago Valentim, 3. Jean-Pierre Mostert, 4. Matthew Holland, 5. Dallas Della-Vedova, 6. Samuel Long, 7. Ryan King, 8. TBC, 9. Brendan Vorster, 10. Sheldon Tarawa (C), 11. Fraser Jones, 12. Jordan Zietsman, 13. Justin Zietsman, 14. Porikapa Tukaki, 15. Clay Uyen


1. Leslie Tapara, 2. Benjamin Rumble, 3. Mac Heke, 4. Caleb Marr, 5. Henare Houkamau, 6. Jacob Rumble, 7. Linton Horsburgh, 8. William Tuheke-Wade, 9. Jack Weir (C), 10. Iziah Malcolm, 11. Usaia Ralulu, 12. Te Aroa Koiatu, 13. Faamanatu Apineru, 14. Ruawharo Rarere. 15. Tiare Sugden


1. Jamie Hawgood (vc), 2. Heath Tessmann, 3. Dev Morris, 4. Sam Offer, 5. Mike Egan, 6. Ryan James, 7. Kenneth MacPherson, 8. Aidan Laxton, 9. Mike Botes, 10. Dylan Loversidge (c), 11. Callum Thomas, 12. Ammon Matuauto, 13. Benjamin Carr, 14. Finn O’Callaghan, 15. Kauri Cudd


1. Ethan Poi, 2. Sioeli Vaituulala, 3. Piersen Kennington, 4. Andrew Sanders, 5. Hayden Croghan, 6. Jackson Pugh, 7. Nathan Oakley, 8. Dylan Cunningham, 9. Hayden Whitmee-Lloyd, 10. Samuel Jurisich, 11. Adam Marshall. 12. Leighton Short, 13. Marcus Arrindell, 14. Christopher Miller, 15. Manihera Eden

Perth Bayswater

1.Dante Tatafu, 2. Ben Buist, 3.Chris Kidd, 4. Keisuke Yagishita, 5. Jacob Buist (c), 6. Meihana Mason, 7. Craig Smith, 8. Faamanu Tofilau, 9. Liam Wynne, 10. Simon Hrbeck, 11. Carlos Clarke, 12. Kolia Konelio, 13. Sharky Kandhai, 14. James Lambert 15. Shane Parkinson

Southern Lions

1. Vidar Tupou, 2. Jordan Shelford, 3. Victor Yong, 4. Scott Turnbull, 5. Tashir Newsome-Smith, 6. Brody Eastwood, 7. Saimone Rauga, 8. Dean Kingi, 9. Mitchell Kingsmill, 10. Kyle Fell (C), 11. Jonah Naborisi, 12. Kameli Tacikalou Naisiroki, 13. Bronson Hokai 14. Meli Naborisi, 15. Liam Mckinnon


Luke Oosthuizen, 2. TBC 3. Philip Schedlbauer, 4. Brad Howe, 5. Timothy Wallace, 6. Ben Taylor, 7. Connor O'Sullivan, 8. Alastair Cockman, 9. Robert Molkenthin, 10. Kurt Penney, 11. Robert Bromley, 12. Nicholas Wolman, 13. Oscar Anderson, 14. Jarryd Barnard, 15. Aidan Shortall


Andre Roux, 2. Scott Cornell, 3. Tomasi Vunivalu, 4. Bradley Campbell, 5. Nathan Yoder, 6. Luke Callan, 7. Cade Begg, 8. Mark Cornell (VC), 9. Jared Deacon, 10. Robert Stortz, 11. Jordan Grattan, 12. Andrew King (C), 13. Grason Makara, 14. Xavier Tearoa, 15. Karaitiana Palmer

Wests Scarborough - TBC