Fortescue Premier Grade Preview Semi-Finals

· WA Premier
by Rugby WA Media

Saturday 17 August 2019, 3:30pm, Sir Charles Court Reserve, Nedlands - (Live Streamed)

Nedlands (1) v UWA (4)

Elimination rugby has arrived in 2019, and it will claim it’s first scalp for the weekend as Nedlands host UWA for the first Premiership Division semi-final.

After an astonishing string of results in the closing stages of the home and away season that also saw them claim the minor premiership in the Premiership Division.

Nedlands enter this thrilling clash having not conceded a defeat since round 8 when they went down 28-19 to Cottesloe.

Since then Nedlands have reigned supreme in the Premiership division, leaving a trail of destruction on their path to the semi-finals.

Having opened their season on an extreme high with five victories on the trot, UWA then ran over a few road bumps that nearly saw them slip to the Championship Division.

UWA’s semi-finals chances were never comfortable, and a last gasp loss to Associates in round 17 nearly put them to the sword.

However, an exemplary 37-27 win over Cottesloe in the last round of the season ensured their place in the Premiership Division semi-finals.

Nedlands will go into the semi as the firm favorites with the home ground advantage as well as the minor premiership under their belt.

UWA will have to turn up a vicious side if they are to knock off the top dogs in their own backyard.


Sunday, 18 August, 3:30pm, Harvey Field, Cottesloe (Live Streamed)

Cottesloe (2) v Wests Scarborough (3)

The cruelty of the Premiership Division will reveal itself again this weekend as Wests Scarborough and Cottesloe battle it out for the remaining spot in the grand final as D-Day arrives for both sides.

This fixture has proven to be the ultimate battle in 2019, with both sides going one for one throughout the season, this week the volume will turned up as the loser will be sent home packing.

While the pressure will be pouring on both sides on Sunday, Cottesloe will be under the microscope having failed to win their last four out of five games including an excruciating loss to UWA on home soil in round 18.

Cottesloe began their season as the team to beat outsmarting opposition sides to with a different style of rugby then we’ve seen at ‘The Nest’ in previous years.

After a few inconsistent performances including a loss to Championship Division team Southern Lions back in round five, Cottesloe were unable to secure minor premiers over top dogs Nedlands despite some dominant showings.

As for Wests Scarborough, Harvey Field still haunts them from last years semi-final loss where they conceded a last-minute penalty goal against Associates that saw their three-peat hopes gone with the wind.

The ‘Boars’ have had a strong run home in 2019 nearly landing on top of the table up until a loss to Nedlands in round 17 that sent them back down to third position.

With the sun forecast to shine down on the picturesque Harvey Field on Sunday, both sides are expected to bring their Sunday best as they both audition for the big dance.


Championship Division

Saturday 17 August, 3:30pm, Lark Hill Sportsplex

Associates (1) v Kalamunda (4)

This clash will have an element of spice and a dash of salt as Kalamunda seek revenge from last year’s Premiership Grand Final.

Associates took the spoils in 2018, but Kalamunda will be frothing at the mouth to make sure they knock Associates back into shape.

The Premiership semi-finals were within touching distance of Associates in round 17 after an empathic 21-18 win over UWA down at Allen Park.

However, only a week later the Premiership finals would sail beyond reach after a bruising loss to old rivals Wests Scarborough.

This ‘Soaks’ team has been driving along a cliff edge all season and are keen to finish off on a high and take home that Championship Division silverware.

While 2019 has been a far cry from their 2018 success, Kalamunda have found their way into silverware contention yet again after a last gasp counterattack towards the back end of the season.

The ‘Bulls’ overthrew ARKs to cement their place in the Championship semi-finals after a solid 38-15 victory over the Joondalup Brothers two weeks ago.

Kalamunda has not won a piece of silverware since they won the Premiership in 2008 and will be sharpening their horns for this epic clash.

Sunday 18 August, 3:30pm, McGillivray Oval, Mount Claremont

Wanneroo v Palmyra

This Sunday’s Championship division Semi-Final clash will yet again be another hotly contested match as Palmyra look for retribution over Wanneroo from last years final at Lark Hill.

Being back in the Championship Division for a second year defiantly lit an uncomfortable flame under Palmyra, dishing out solid wins to every team they faced post round 14.

Looking to prove they belong up with the top six in the Premiership Division ‘The Palms’ scored over 40 points in four of their last five games.

Sending a resounding message to competition ‘Pally’ punished ARKs 46-0 in the final round, looking to put doubts in a confident Wanneroo outfit.

Wanneroo are the reigning Championship Division Premiers, and have had a mammoth 2019 season, promoting themselves into the Premiership division after a string of impressive victories early in the season.

Having a great deal of young talent in their side, Wanneroo boasts a number of Senior Academy athletes looking to take the next step.

With such a good foundation and unrivalled leadership from the likes of captain and club stalwart Andrew King, the ‘Roo Dogs’ defiantly have a bright future and would like to kick-start it in 2019 with back to back Championship Division wins.


Starting XVs 



1.Tuki Raimona, 2. Joseph Ritchie, 3. Jonathon Tiueti, 4. Mike Egan (c), 5. Drake Robson, 6. David Bailey, 7. Kaleb Whakataka, 8. Grayson Knapp, 9. Nate Roberts, 10. Dylan Loversidge, 11. Al Momoisea, 12. Jackson Neilson, 13. Ammon Matuauto (vc), 14. Christoff Cronje, 15. Kauri Cudd



1. Paea Fonoifua 2. Harry Scobl, 3.William Siebert, 4. Jack Bromley, 5. John Perrott, 6. Thomas Cavanagh, 7. Connor O'Sullivan 8. Ben Taylor, 9. Rory O'Sullivan, 10. Conor Hughes 11. Leonaitasi Feke, 12. Michael Beatty, 13. Nicholas Wolman, 14. Byron Sharwood, 15. Romulusi Masi



1.Ivan Fepuleai, 18. Gafa Su'a (VC), 3. Laffs Ikenasio, 4. Kieran Stringer © 5. Zane Herrick, 6. Cohen Masson, 7. Alec Fontalvo, 8. Tobias Hoskins, 9.Tim Parks (VC), 10. Sean Martin, 11. Netinili Fielea, 12. Sam Parker, 13. Ali Haining, 14. Zu Abrahams, 15. Ben Meredith


Wests Scarborough 

1. Dominic Hardman, 2. Dylan Hutchins, 3. Nicholas Mclennan, 4. Matthew O'Brien, 5. Marnus Spangenberg, 6. Joshua Tinomana, 7. Jack Taylor, 8. Issac Meo 9. Michael Marshall 10. Jarome Leonard 11. Nika Morehu 12. Louie David 13. Christopher Tuatara-Morrison 14. Cody Coe-Baker 15. Walter Koteka


1. Michael D'Adamo 2. Daniel Griffiths 3. Ignacio Manuel Iturbe 4. Afa Manukia 5. Shay Lagan 6. Hamish Donovan 7. Ben Enright 8. Michael Hardwick 9. Nicholas Doherty 10. Robert Ingram 11. Facundo Aguirre 12. Tevita Sifa 13. Ross Palframan 14. Jackson Gilbey 15. Matthew Rigby


1. Aaron Minett 2. Zinzan Ransfield Kake 3. Mac Heke 4. Henare Houkamau 24. Leo Auvaa 6. Dale Foden 7. Taine Oakley 8. Auega Seumanutafa 9. Tiare Sugden 10. Te Aroa Koiatu 11. Riley Andersen 12. Koiatu Kouatu 13. Faamanatu Apineru 14. Callum Roberts 15. Usaia Ralulu


1. Andre Roux 2. Scott Cornell 3. Tomasi Vunivalu 4. Bradley Campbell 5. Teate Walker 6. Shjon Barling 7. Oliver Callan 8. Mark Cornell 9. Corry Tearoa 10. Ethan Reilly 11. Kris Palmer  12. Andrew King 13. Grason Makara 14. Graham Hunter 15. Stephen Nolson


1.Ethan Poi, 2. Sioeli Vaituulala, 3. Piersen Kenington, 4. Kale Bissett, 5. Andrew Sanders, 6. Aaron McPhee ©, 7. Jackson Pugh, 8. Dylan Cunningham, 9. Michael McDonald, 10. Leighton Short (VC), 11. Trevor Smith, 12. Tommy Foster, 13. Trey Maloney, 14. Chris Miller, 15. Adam Marsh