RugbWA Schools Rugby features Combined Schools and Colleges (CSC) and Public Schools Association (PSA).

Combined Schools and Colleges (CSC)

The Combined Schools and Colleges Competition has been contested in Western Australian Schools since 1987. The focus of the competition is two-fold, to provide students with a safe and enjoyable introduction to rugby and to provide a well-managed and competitive competition.

With many schools in recent times finding it difficult to field 15-a-side teams week in and week out there has been some work done to allow those with less numbers to play 10-a-side or even 7’s in order to get game time for their students. Schools have been very supportive of each other and this has resulted in a strong core group of schools continuing to play in the CSC Competition.

There is continued efforts to encourage new schools or schools that may have once played in the competition to re-join and make Western Australian school rugby stronger than ever before.

Schools that compete in the CSC Competition are:

Mandurah Catholic College

Kennedy Baptist College

Thornlie Senior High School

Christian Brothers College Fremantle

Aranmore Catholic College

John XXIII College

Churchlands Senior High School

If your school is interested in joining the CSC competition please contact Dane Lazarus at Dane.Lazarus@westernforce.com.au or (08) 9387 0712 for more information.

Public Schools Association (PSA)

Rugby became a PSA Sport in 1961, and in 1963 the Rugby cup was renamed the Brother Redmond Cup, in honour of Brother M F Redmond, who was an influential teacher and sports master at Aquinas College over a span of 45 years.

Although the Trophy was first presented in 1963, the PSA Headmasters decreed at a meeting in 1962, that because all PSA schools had competed in Rugby since the first competition in 1961, then the original two years would also be included on the trophy.

The PSA is contested between sevens schools:

Aquinas College

Wesley College

Hale School

Christchurch Grammar School

Scotch College

Trinity College

Guildford Grammar School

For PSA Rugby Results, Fixtures and Ladders, visit their website here